1: Introduction to Abductions

1879 Words
XilThis had been a mistake. A big one. Judging from their groans, Havel and Matar thought the same thing. When I'd signed us up for this course, I hadn't expected there to be assignments, let alone exams. It was supposed to be a bit of fun, not an entire degree. "Is it refundable?" Matar asked with an irritated flick of his tail. I studied the terms and conditions. Klat. No such luck. And we'd paid way too many credits to just give up before we'd even started. I grit my teeth. "We're going to do this. Exams be damned. We don't even have to do well in them. There are some planets that accept abductors without qualifications." Havel flashed his fangs in annoyance. "We know. And look how that's worked out. We're the laughingstock of the entire galaxy." "Just this sector," I quipped. "And we can still change that. We just need to get it right the one time and everything will be forgotten." Matar groaned again. "We've tried six times. I can still see the last female waving at us as she stole our escape pod. Do you really think we'll be successful after taking this course?" "The Intergalactic University has an excellent reputation. Their classes must be good. And if we fail, we can always choose a different path. I hear space pirating pays quite nicely." "Kardarians don't become pirates," Havel spat. "They abduct females. It's what we do. What our people have done ever since they discovered spaceflight. We have to do this. There's no other way." "Yeah, I don't plan on staying a bachelor forever." Matar licked his lips. "I can't wait to have a female of my own. Soft and succulent, ready to worship me." Havel snickered. "I think you got something wrong there. You're supposed to worship the female, not the other way round. Make her feel like the only woman in the universe. Even I know that. Maybe it’s good that we’re doing this course after all." I left them to their bickering and select the first lecture. We were on autopilot and wo