A Collection of Mars


Edgar Rice Burroughs created the well-known character Tarzan, as well as John Carter, the adventurer of Mars.

This anthology contains five novels of the adventures of John Carter :

1 - A Princess of Mars :

A Princess of Mars is the first volume in the Barsoom Series, telling the adventures of John Carter, a confederate veteran of the American Civil War, who finds himself mysteriously transported to Mars, called Barsoom by its inhabitants.

On Barsoom, John Carter will find himself in the middle of a civilisation"s war, and will fall in love with the fascinating Dejah Thoris, a princess in danger.

What side will John Carter choose, and how will he win the Princess of Mars" heart ?

2 - The Gods of Mars :

The Gods of Mars is the second volume in the Barsoom Series.

On Barsoom, John Carter found love, but was transported back to Earth, unable to go back to Deja Thoris, the princess he fell in love with.

After ten years of separation from the love of his life, John Carter is sent back to Barsoom. But his arrival takes place in the worst possible location : the Valley Dor, which is the Barsoomian afterlife !

Will John Carter get out of this terrible place, and will he find again the princess he loves ?

3 - Warlord of Mars :

Warlord of Mars is the third volume in the Barsoom Series.

On Barsoom, John Carter gained her lover back, Dejah Thoris, only to see her imprisoned in the Temple of the Sun. Carter learns that the entrance of the cell can be opened only once in a year.

Will John Carter manage to save the Princess he loves ?

4 - Thuvia, Maid of Mars :

Warlord of Mars is the fourth volume in the Barsoom Series.

On Barsoom, Carthoris, the son of John Carter and Dejah Thoris, is deeply in love with Thuvia, the Princess of Ptarth.

But she is already promised to another man, and on Barsoom, this type of engagement can"t be broken, except by death.

What will Carthoris decide to do in order to be with the Princess he madly loves ?

5 - The Chessmen of Mars :

The Chessmen of Mars is the fifth volume in the Barsoom Series.

On Barsoom, we follow Tara, Princess of Helium, the young daughter of John Carter and Dejah Thoris. After being captured by the terrifying Kaldanes, Tara and the young man who wants to win her heart have to participate in a terrible game of life and death : the Jetan, a Barsoomian game ressembling chess, and using people as pawns.

Will Tara survive this ordeal and go back successfully to her parents ? And will she fall in love with this mysterious young man ?

You"ll find the answers to all of these questions in this Collection of Mars.

Free preview
ANNOTATIONS Born on the 1st of September 1875 in America, Edgar Rice Burroughs was a pulp fiction writer. He created the well-known character Tarzan, as well as John Carter, the adventurer of Mars. Burroughs is also the author of Pellucidar, a less known story about a fictional land situated into the hollow center of Earth. Before becoming a writer, Burroughs occupied many jobs: soldier, cowboy, factory worker, manager of a mine owned by his brothers. After the failure of this mining company, Burroughs worked in railroad. He also worked as a pencil-sharpener wholesaler, and began writing fiction in 1911. Burroughs was an avid reader of pulp fiction magazines at this time, and considered the stories it contained of being of poor quality. He famously said later that he thought: « ...if people were paid for writing rot such as I read in some of those magazines, that I could write stories just as rotten. As a matter of fact, although I had never written a story, I knew absolutely that I could write stories just as entertaining and probably a whole lot more so than any I chanced to read in those magazines. When the attack on Pearl Harbor occured, Burroughs, then in his late 60s, was in Honolulu. He applied to become a war correspondent, and became one of the oldest war correspondents during WWII. You can learn more about these events in the novel Don’t Go Near the Water, written by William Brinkley. At the time of his death in 1950 (on March 19, 1950, from a heart attack), Edgar Rice Burroughs had written nearly 80 novels, and was the author who earned the most during his career from film adaptations of his stories. Indeed, the 27 Tarzan movies that were produced during his living were met with success at the box-office, and Burroughs was paid more than 2 million dollars in royalties. His first story, Under the Moons of Mars, was published in serialized form in 1912, in the pulp magazine The All-Story. At this time, he used a pseudonym, Norman Bean. It launched the Barsoom series and was published in a book form in 1917, under the new title A Princess of Mars. At this time, the first three sequels of the Barsoom series were published as serials, and the first four Tarzan stories had been published as paperbacks. Tarzan and the Barsoom series were met with success, and Burroughs notably started to exploit his Tarzan character in many media forms, such as a comic strip, merchandise, and movies. This was not frequent at the time, and many experts warned Burroughs of the risks of this practice, telling him that all of these media would just compete against each other and fail to generate money. The success of this endeavor proved the experts wrong, and Tarzan became a cultural icon. Burroughs is considered to be an influential writer, and his Barsoom series influenced Scientifics and inspired them to explore Mars. An impact crater was then named in Burroughs honor after his death. Burroughs was inducted in 2003 into the Science-Fiction Hall of Fame. A PRINCESS OF MARS by Edgar Rice Burroughs To My Son Jack With my back against a golden throne, I fought once again for Dejah Thoris.

Dreame-Editor's pick


Small Town Romance Boxed Set: Books 1 - 5


Mail Order Brides of Slate Springs Boxed Set: Books 1 - 3


Bridgewater County Series Boxed Set: Books 1-6


Bobby's Old Man


The Room Mate


Urban Vampire




Scan code to download app

download_iosApp Store
google icon
Google Play